Sharing is caring was the theme for this year’s event as the team side and both professional divisions tied for 1st place bragging rights.  Sage Lakes Golf Course PGA Head Professional Kevin Kavran and his amateur team of Tony Kavran, Craig Revier and Brian Watson tied with Blue Lakes Country Club PGA Head Professional Mike Hamblin and his team of amateur players, Jordan Loft, Mason Harper and Jason Greenhalgh, f0r the team title in the 2023 Rocky Mountain Section PGA Foundation Scholarship Pro-Am honoring Larry Malone with stellar team scores of 18-under-par in the one gross ball/one net ball format.  On the individual professional side of things, PGA Head Professional Kevin Kavran from Sage Lakes Golf Course in Idaho Falls, Idaho, and PGA Head Professional Zach Abels from Canyon Springs Golf Course in Twin Falls, Idaho, shared 1st place honors with fine rounds of 3-under-par, 68.  In the senior division, longtime rivals Jim Empey from Boise, Idaho, and the aforementioned Mike Hamblin, both fired rounds of 72 to share honors.
Click Here for complete results.

This was the 49th playing of this long-standing charity event which was conducted at the 6,880 yard, par 71, Hillcrest Country Club in Boise, Idaho, on Monday, April 17, 2023.

The Rocky Mountain Section PGA Foundation and the Malone family wish to sincerely thank head golf professional Brett Kleinkopf, PGA, and the rest of the Hillcrest Country Club staff and membership for their always gracious hospitality.

Since 1974, the Rocky Mountain PGA and generous sponsors have teamed up to raise more than $300,000 in scholarship funds for junior golfers.  This scholarship program started in memory of Larry Malone who had a successful golf career at Twin Falls High School and Weber State University.  Mr. Malone succumbed to cancer in 1974, and for 49 years local PGA Professionals, amateurs, friends and family have gathered to remember this young man and his love of the game.

We appreciate the generous contributions everyone has made to the 49th Annual Rocky Mountain PGA Foundation Larry Malone Scholarship Pro-Am.

The Rocky Mountain Section PGA Foundation would like to acknowledge the following donors, supporters and sponsors:

Magic Valley Jr. Golf Foundation and Zach Abels, PGA
Jim Empey, PGA
Mike Hamblin, PGA
Dave Carollo, PGA
David Goss
Dr. Loren Hinger
Jere Webb Real Estate
Dr. Leo Harf – Intermountain Eye Clinic
James Ray Construction
Kerrie Murray
Tim McGourty – TMC Masonry, Inc.
Greg Allard
Rick Onaindia – Bettencourt Dairy
Dr. Tim Klena – Idaho Chiropractic Group
Ben Boettcher, Helmstar Group
Peter Guerrero – True Score
Stretch Lab
Lost Grove Brewing
First Tee Idaho and Nick Blasius, PGA
TMN Events and Pat Moloney & Scott Winegar