Bailey Henley of Jerome, Idaho, used rounds of 75 and 76 to fire a two round total of 9-over-par, 151, to win the Rocky Mountain Section PGA Girls’ Junior Championship over defending champion Payton Fehringer of Pocatello, Idaho, by four shots.  On the boys’ side, J.R. Small from Bozeman, Mont., shot fine rounds of 68 and 74 to post an even par total of 142 to win the boys’ title by a single stroke over Sam Tidd of Meridian, Idaho.  This year’s championship was held at Bridger Creek Golf Course in Bozeman, Mont. 


The Girls’ champion and runner-up have earned the opportunity to join 144 of the nation’s top female junior golfers in the PGA of America’s premium junior event, the 42nd Girls’ Junior PGA Championship, hosted at The Country Club of St. Albans in St. Albans, Missouri. The Country Club of St. Albans has consistently been ranked in the Top 10 courses in the state of Missouri by Golf Digest and looks to be a fantastic venue for the event. The Girls’ Junior PGA Championship will be held from July 18-21, 2017.  The top two boys have earned the same opportunity in the Boys’ Junior PGA Championship also being held at St. Albans on July 31-August 3, 2017.


There is also a 12 and under age division as part of this competition where the competitors play 9 holes each day.  Cameron Hackmann from Laurel, Mont., shot a great 1-over-par round of 72 to capture first place honors over Ashton McArthur from Rexburg, Idaho.  Alone in third place was Aubrey Kelley from Emigrant, Mont. 


The Rocky Mountain PGA would like to sincerely thank host PGA Professional Mark Holiday and his Bridger Creek staff for their terrific hospitality.  They provided us with beautiful conditions to conduct the championship.


The Junior PGA Championship has traditionally been a stepping stone for many of today’s PGA and LPGA Tour professionals, as well as current collegiate stars. Past Junior PGA Championship competitors who have gone on to successful professional careers on tour include: Inbee Park, Luke Guthrie, Trevor Immelman, Cristie Kerr, Justin Leonard, Hunter Mahan, Phil Mickelson, Grace Park, Dottie Pepper, Jordan Spieth, Lexi Thompson, David Toms, Michelle Wie and Tiger Woods.

CLICK HERE for Final Results